Promises To Keep

I remember doing a lot of silly things, as a child. The idiotic games and the strange protocol we involved in seem hilarious, when I look back on it now. Particularly that whole business about promises.

I’m sorry I broke your pencil box. I’ll buy you something else.

Promise?

Promise.

God promise?

God promise. Know what? I’ll buy you a lorry.

Don’t ask me what one has to do with the other. I’ve apparently promised to buy someone a lorry, and I don’t even know whether they’d appreciate my keeping my promise in this instance. But, as a general rule, you promise somebody something, you tend to stick by it.

Which brings me to something else I’ve been thinking about lately.

Apparently, Iran is signatory to the International Charter of the Rights of the Child, and to the International Covenant to Civil and Political Rights. They had 24 juveniles (< 18 years of age) on death row, before they released Nazanin Fatehi. Now it’s 23.

Nazanin Fatehi, 2 years ago (when she was 17), fought off 3 men who tried to rape her and her 15-year old cousin, and stabbed one in self-defense, killing him. She was sentenced to death. For premeditated murder. She was imprisoned for two years. Recently, her execution was stayed, and a new trial held, which declared her innocent, but labelled her action as using “excessive force”. Through bail money raised primarily by this website, she was finally released from imprisonment, and is now, hopefully, on her way to getting back to normal life and completing her education.

I wouldn’t consider myself in a sufficiently qualified position to discuss women’s rights as regards Iran, but it doesn’t take much reading to understand that this situation isn’t uncommon, except perhaps not so much in the international eye.

If they won’t listen to any appeal to their sense of humanity, decency or even basic common sense, wouldn’t their high and mighty principles at least encourage them to keep a promise, implied in the signing of an international treaty? Maybe it’s childlike to say it, but wouldn’t they feel bad they broke a promise made in front of so many nations, and in front of their god?

Wouldn’t you?

Let me know what you think.

